Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia Assigned to Key Assembly Committees

(SACRAMENTO) – State Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins announced her selection of key committee assignments for the 2015-16 Regular Session today. Coming off his recent appointment Assemblyman Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella), Chair of Committee on Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy has now been named to serve now on the following key committees: Transportation; Appropriations; and Governmental Organization.

“I am extremely honored to have been selected as chair to the Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy Committee for the State Assembly. As Chairman, I want to be an advocate by building a stronger economy and creating more jobs for the people of California.” said Assemblyman Garcia.

Assemblymember Garcia has an extensive background in securing regional funding for several high profile capital improvement projects, investing in over $100 million dollars in public works projects as the former chairman of Coachella Valley Association of Government and Sunline Transit Agency. As the former Mayor of Coachella, he worked tirelessly to foster strong partnerships and policies with local tribal government.

“These committees are relevant to the communities I represent and will give me the opportunity to play an integral role in finding real solutions. Whether it’s the improvement of our transportation systems, enhancing the quality of life, or advocating for policies that will continue to help our state retain jobs and encourage business development.” said Garcia, “I am committed to tackle some of California’s most pressing challenges this legislative session.

# # #

Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) serves as the as the chairperson of the Assembly Committee on Jobs, Economic Development and the Economy.  He represents the 56th district, which comprises the cities and communities of Blythe, Brawley, Bermuda Dunes, Calexico, Calipatria, Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, El Centro, Holtville, Imperial, Indio, Mecca, Oasis, North Shore, Salton Sea, Thermal, Thousand Palms, and Westmorland.