Assemblymember Garcia Heads New CA Joint Committee on Climate Change Policies

Friday, June 2, 2017

Legislature Launches New Committee to Combat Climate Change


(SACRAMENTO, CA)— In the wake of the United States’ withdrawal from the Paris Climate Accords, California’s commitment to act on climate is stronger than ever. Yesterday, Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, (D-Coachella) Chairman of the California Legislature’s newly formed Joint Committee on Climate Change Policies (JCCCP), submitted a letter to the California Air Resources Board (CARB) urging greater transparency and collaboration with the legislature in the adoption of the 2030 Target Scoping Plan.


CARB’s 2030 Target Scoping Plan will frame policy measures and infrastructure needs to drive down Greenhouse Gas emissions, reflective of the 2030 targets established by SB 32 (Pavely/E. Garcia, 2016) and further guided by AB 197 (E. Garcia, 2016).


“California continues to lead the global charge on climate. In order to reach our landmark, 2030 Climate Change Goals, everyone needs to come to the table; state departments, agencies, the legislature, and industries alike. This new joint committee was established to ensure that our state passes comprehensive, equitable policies as we embark to meet our targets,” stated Chairman Eduardo Garcia. “Our vision is to further engage and offer all stakeholders ample opportunities to patriciate in an inclusive process. Together we can reach our mutual climate goals and work to improve health and overall quality of life. Hosting a series of hearings is a clear first step in that direction.”


The aforementioned letter, addressed to CARB Chairman, Nichols and Executive Director, Corey was signed by the following group of Legislators; JCCCP Chair, Eduardo Garcia, JCCCP Vice Chair, Ben Hueso (D-San Diego), Senators, Cannella (R-Ceres), Skinner (D-Berkeley), Stern (D-Canoga Park), Assemblymembers Burke (D-Inglewood), Cunningham (R-Templeton), Frazier (D-Discovery Bay), Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens), Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters), Acosta (R-Santa Clarita), Bocanegra (D-Pacoima), Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), Cooper (D-Elk Grove), Flora (R-Ripon), Gomez (D-Los Angeles), Gray ( D-Merced), Lackey (R-Palmdale), Medina (D-Riverside), O’Donnell (D-Long Beach), Rodriguez (D-Pomona) and Salas (D-Bakersfield). 


About the California Joint Committee on Climate Change Policies: The Joint Committee on Climate Change Policy (JCCCP) was created in 2016 by AB 197 (E. Garcia). The JCCCP was established to provide ongoing and permanent oversight over the implementation of the state's climate policies. This committee is required to make recommendations concerning the state's programs, policies, and investments related to climate change. The committee is uniquely positioned to connect the jurisdictions of several legislative standing committees, including those that have the issues of air quality, transportation, energy, and local government within their jurisdiction.


About the California Air Resources Board: The California Air Resources Board (CARB) exists to ensure public health and the protection of ecological resources by administering regulations and programs designed to mitigate air pollutants. A major responsibility of the board is to oversee local and regional air pollution control districts.



Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) serves as the chairperson of the Assembly Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife.  He represents the 56th district, which comprises the cities and communities of Blythe, Brawley, Bermuda Dunes, Calexico, Calipatria, Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, El Centro, Holtville, Imperial, Indio, Mecca, Oasis, North Shore, Salton Sea, Thermal, Thousand Palms, and Westmorland.